Kitchen Chicken

After realizing that I spend too much money on food, I decided to make a dish using only ingredients that I already had in my cabinet and freezer.  This is what I came up with.  It’s stupid simple.

Ingredients

  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 2 tbs butter
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 15 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 tbs tomato paste
  • 1/3 cup balsamic vinaigrette (or italian salad dressing)
  • 2 chicken breasts or 5-6 chicken tenders (whatever you feel like eating)
  • Salt/Pepper
  1. In a large-ish skillet, heat oil and butter on medium-high heat.
  2. Sautee garlic and onions, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add diced tomatoes, tomato paste, and salad dressing.
  4. Sautee for 5 more minutes, stirring continuously.
  5. Add chicken, reduce heat to medium-low and cover, cooking until chicken is done, about 10-12 minutes.
  6. Add salt/pepper.

I made this dish with a side of rice.  I think it’d be good if you put cheese on top, but it was delicious regardless.  I also froze the remaining tomato paste in a plastic bag for later use.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Kitchen Chicken

  1. Sounds delicious without the cheese but my daughter would want cheese. Sounds great with wild rice and asparagus!

  2. Pingback: Chicken Sucks, But I Eat it Anyway « Karen Knows Best!

Leave a Reply

